Useful information
JUAMI Research Portal
JUAMI Organizers

AAU logo

Caltech logo

Nairobi logo

About the organizers

Dr. Simon Billinge (Chair, US Committee; BA Materials Science Oxford 1986, PhD Materials Science U. Pennsylvania 1992) is currently fulfilling a joint position as Professor of Applied Physics in the department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics at Columbia University and Senior Scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory. His research centers on the study of nanoscale structure-property relationships in functional nanomaterials by means of novel x-ray and neutron scattering techniques coupled with advanced computing.

Dr. Peter Green (US Committee; BA Hunter College 1981, PhD Cornell 1985) is currently Professor and Department Chair of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Michigan. He conducts research into the understanding and controlling of the structure and properties of "soft" material based systems for applications such as energy conversion, active and passive coatings, membranes, sensors, and organic electronics.

Dr. Sossina Haile (US Committee; BSc MIT, PhD MIT 1992) is currently a Professor of Materials Science and of Chemical Engineering at Caltech. She studies ionic conduction in solids in order to understand the mechanisms governing transport and apply this understanding to the development of novel materials. She has been especially influential in the field of fuel cell research.

Dr. Teketel Yohannes (Chair, Africa Committee; BSc Addis Ababa Univ. 1984, PhD Addis Ababa Univ. 1997) is currently a Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Addis Ababa University. He is interested in energy-related materials, particularly conducting polymers, and has extensively studied the electrochemistry, spectroelectrochemistry, photovoltaic and photoelectrochemistry of these types of materials. He has enjoyed collaborating in these endeavors with prominent scientists across the globe.
Email: or

Dr. Bernard Aduda (Africa Committee; BEd Univ. of Nairobi 1984, PhD Imperial College London 1988) is currently Principal of the College of Biological and Physical Sciences at the University of Nairobi. His research career has focused on microstructure-property relationships with emphasis on, among other things, renewable energy sources, photovoltaics, photocatalysis, and nanotechnologies for sustainable development.

Dr. Tom Otiti (Africa Committee, PhD Makerere University) is currently a Professor of Physics at Makerere University. He conducts research into climate change and environmentally sound technologies. He was recently honored for his influential work as a recipient of the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize in conjunction with the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.

Dr. Joseph Tesha (Africa Committee; BSc Univ. of Dar es Salaam 1978, PhD Cranfield Univ. 1993) is currently the Director of Research at the University of Dar es Salaam and Associate Professor in the Department of Engineering Materials. In addition to the extensive administrative responsibilities he fulfills in his role as Director of Research, he also is actively engaged in research into biocomposite materials and their applications.