Apr. 06, 2000

Journalism School announces Eisenstaedt Awards for Outstanding Magazine Photography

By Kim Brockway

Young Columbine Survivors, by George Kochaniec, Denver Rocky Mountain News

The School of Journalism announced the winners of the 2000 Alfred Eisenstaedt Awards for Magazine Photography yesterday, showcasing the finest in news and feature photography for 1999 and honoring such legendary photographers as Annie Leibowitz, James Nachtwey and Richard Avedon. The prizes, in their third year and administered by Columbia under a grant from LIFE were awarded to photographers for outstanding work in 25 categories.

Presented last night at the Equitable Center Theater in Manhattan by Dateline correspondent John Hockenberry, the awards honored the year's best photos for news, portraits, science, sports, nature, fashion, architecture and travel, and covered a wide range of subjects from the humorous and ironic image of Jim Carrey to the shocking, moving pictures of Kosovo and Columbine.

The Cover of the Year Award, given to the outstanding photographic magazine cover of 1999, was awarded to Annie Leibovitz, whose image of actor Jim Carrey appeared on the November, 1999, issue of Vanity Fair magazine. Leibovitz also won for Best Fashion Essay and swept the Single Image Portrait Category. The LIFE Legend Award, recognizing an individual for lifetime achievement, has been awarded to Richard Avedon, and the New Talent Award, presented this year for the first time to a breakthrough talent in photography, to Martin Schoeller.

Actor Jim Carrey, photographed by Annie Leibovitz

Other magazines in which honored work appeared were Audubon, Architectural Record, Blue, Camera Arts, Condé Nast Traveler, Discover, DoubleTake, ESPN, Esquire, Flaunt, Golf Digest, Harper's, House & Garden, Jane, Joe, LIFE, Madison, Men's Journal, Mother Jones, National Geographic, National Geographic Traveler, Nest, Newsweek, The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, Rolling Stone, Sky & Telescope, Sports Illustrated, Texas Monthly, (T)here, The Sun, Time, Vanity Fair, Vogue, and W.

"Eisies" are named for photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt, a pioneer of photojournalism, known to many as "Eisie," who died in 1995 at the age of 96. The winning photos were chosen from more than 1,000 entries that were reviewed by 13 screening panels. The final judging was conducted by a five-member panel, which included Michael Bierut, partner, Pentagram; Vicki Goldberg, photography critic and art historian; Paul Lowe, photographer, Magnum Photos; Marcel Saba, director, Saba Press; and Fred Woodward, art director, Rolling Stone. The jury deliberated at Columbia in January, and its choices were then reviewed and ratified by Tom Goldstein, dean of the Journalism School.

Winners received $1,500 and a sculpture designed by Steuben. The winning photographs and runners-up will appear in a special issue of LIFE appearing on newsstands on April 10.

The Eisies are part of a relationship between Columbia's Graduate School of Journalism and LIFE that also provides for $15,000 in scholarshiops for students interested in photography, and a comitment of a gift of $150,000 to establish a state-of-the-art darkroom, to be named for Alfred Eisenstaedt.

The awards, given annually, join others under Columbia's purview, including the Pulitzer Prizes, the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards in television and radio journalism, the National Magazine Awards and the Maria Moors Cabot Prizes in inter-American journalism. A full list of the winners (also available on the Eisie website at http://www.eisie.com/) follows:

Click here for biography for Life Legend Award Winner Richard Avedon.

Click here for Alfred Eisenstaedt Awards 2000 Winners and Runners-Up.

Click here for biography for New Talent Award Winner Martin Schoeller.