Four Upanisadic Mahâvâkyas

and their Vedic settings

Veda: Rg-veda Yajur-veda Sâma-veda Atharva-veda
type of priest: invoking priests handling priests singing priests (nonliturgical)
hymn collection: Rk Samhitâ Yajuh Samhitâ Sâma Samhitâ Atharva Samhitâ
ritual treatise: Aitareya Brâhmana Satapatha Brâhmana Chândogya Brâhmana   ...
philosophical treatise: Aitareya Upanisad Brhadâranyaka Upan. Chândogya Upan. Mândûkya Upanisad
mahâvâkya: Ait.Up. 3.3: Brh.Up. 1.4.10: Ch.Up. 6.8.7: Mand.Up. 2:
(Sanskrit text:) prajñânam brahma aham brahmâsmi tat tvam asi ayam âtmâ brahma
(Olivelle's translation:) "Brahman is knowing." "I am brahman." "That is how you are." "Brahman is this self."

[Note: Each Veda has multiple branches, each of which may have it own Brahmana, Upanisads, etc. This table gives only one line among several for each of them.]

Return to
class notes page.
Return to topic page.
Return to four mahavakyas page.

Class notes for Religion W4620 (Nonduality in Indian and Tibetan Thought), Fall 2002.
Last updated: Fri Aug 30 20:39:17 EDT 2002 by Gary Tubb, email